Another cravat

I just made another cravat.  It’s more complicated than the ones in one of my previous entries, but not by much.  I’ll show you photos then tell you what I did to make it.

The cravat I just made

The cravat I just made

landoncravat3

A close up view of the ends of the cravat

landoncravat2

Another view of the cravat I just made

The base of the cravat is a piece of Chinese silk that is 60″ long and 12″ wide.  The gold flowers on navy and royal blue is scraps from a sari from India.  The rest of the sari was cut into a bodice and over skirt for one of my models for a fashion and variety show in July.  The model who is wearing this cravat is also wearing a duppioni silk vest that is a light, cool blue with a navy blue velveteen collar.  These blues match the vest.

After cutting the Chinese silk, I cut a piece of fusible interfacing the same size and fused it to the silk.  I had to piece together the border scraps to make a strip that was long enough, so I did that, then laid the border on the silk.  I basted the selvage edge of the border to the edge of the silk then sewed the other side of the border to the silk with a zigzag stitch.  I made it a little narrower than the default setting and changed the length to 0.5 so the stitches would cover up the cut edge of the border.  I pressed the whole thing.

I folded the silk so that the other long edge of the rectangle met the long edge I had just sewn the border to.  With right sides together, I stitched that long edge and the ends, leaving a space on the long edge a bit wider than my hand so I could easily turn the cravat right side out.  I clipped the corners and turned it right side out.  I pressed it with the border side down so that I could pull the edges a bit toward the non-border side.  I stitched the opening closed then edge stitched all the way around the cravat 1/8″ from the edge.  Then I pressed it again.

[5/21/14]: I forgot to add that like in the other cravat entry above, I folded the cravat the long way so it was a few layers thick and sewed it down.  This is just a bit off exact half and is long enough for around the back of the neck.  You might not want to do it if you want your cravat to be more free flowing or like a scarf, but this is so that this part can nicely sit at the back of the neck before being wrapped.  Here’s a photo:

Folding and stitching for the back of the neck

Folding and stitching for the back of the neck

3 Comments

Filed under Garments

3 responses to “Another cravat

  1. RO

    Ohhhhh how I love that fabric!! Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

