SPESA & Atlanta

I haven’t been able to get all the photos edited yet for the next post (the header photo will give you a clue).  So I have the ones from when I went to the Sewn Product Equipment Suppliers Expo (SPESA) May 18-20, 2010 in Atlanta, GA (I got there a day early).  There are photos at the show and some of other stuff in Atlanta.  I took 100 photos at the Georgia Aquarium, here is the link, which opens in a new window.  It was nice to escape the Oregon rain for a while.

I really wish I’d taken more photos.  Some of the stuff was really cool.  There were all kinds of industrial sewing machines, from general lockstitch and overlock to ones that make flat-felled seams to ones that make smocking.  There were cutting machines, pressing machines, fabric, trims, software, books, etc. all on the production/industrial side of sewing.  I wish I’d had thousands of dollars and enough space for all of it.  It was wonderful to see all these gadgets in motion and talk to people.  It was kind of overwhelming because there was so much stuff, but it was so awesome to be able to go.  I got to eat a Chik-Fil-A sandwich for lunch one of the days (no Chik-Fil-A in Oregon yet) and for 2 days we  met up for dinner, me and all the people who came who read fashion-incubator.com.  On the 17th, Stu and I had dinner together and we were staying at the same hotel.  For the 1st 2 days of the show (the 18th and the 19th) I walked around with Jess, who’s from Indiana.  It was really cool meeting everyone from F-I, especially Kathleen.  The first dinner we ate at this sports bar called Statistics, which actually had decent food.  The 2nd dinner was at Truva Mediterranean Restaurant, which had scrumptious, SUPER DELICIOUS Turkish food.


The thing about the Reece/welt pockets made on the AMF Reece and Adler pocket machines (they do the slit and the “lips” at the same time) is that the pockets can be made in less than a minute. You’d have to add the pocket bag pieces later, though. It takes me 30 minutes per whole pocket. The tech or sales guy there said you can’t do pockets like this by hand or on a lockstitch machine (regular sewing machine) and we all kept saying yes, you can then he got grumpy and left, probably finally believing us. ha ha ha 🙂  I think the Adler machines did a somewhat better job.  I really want one.

I also met the people who created TukaTech.  They were on the sidewalk when I was leaving Truva and I walked back to the hotel with them then found out we were staying in the same hotel.  They were really nice.

2 Comments

Filed under Misc.

2 responses to “SPESA & Atlanta

  1. LisaB

    Hi there, west coast Lisa! I’m just starting to look at your new blog. Great job with all the photos.

    Like you, I wish I had taken more pictures at SPESA. I really don’t have all that many considering the large number of cool items I _could_ have taken a picture of. Oh well. It was great to meet you!

  2. Pingback: Texprocess Americas Expo | Look, I Sewed This!

Leave a Reply

